Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Man, I am biffing it hard

I come up with this whole deal and these rules and crap, and then I can’t make my first proper post because I am always too damned busy.

I’m working on Outside Men, a game about undead software engineers in Alaska. It was born for the design challenge of more or less that name, put forth by Jason Morningstar in December of 2006. I’ll post what little currently survives of a design document sometime tomorrow. I had a playtest at GameStorm, a small con here in Portland in March, and realized that what actually went on at the table had defied all my assumptions again – in many of the same ways they did a mere two months prior to Jason’s challenge. In response to that earlier game, I designed what is very nearly a whole system.

I’ll have that up soon too. The challenge I face now is bringing that system together with the themes of Outside Men, and extracting whatever else I can from what happened at that table – oh, and seeing if any of this crap is really going to work at all.

June 12, 2007 - Posted by | Outside Men

3 Comments »

  1. You are posting about admitting that you need to post more. That’s step 1. A lot of people don’t even take step 1.

    We will totally take the rest of those steps with you.

    Also, my mind just liquefied with the phrase “undead software engineers.” I definitely want to see more. What I have seen of your framework (which I hope you’ll post up) definitely has something good there, and hopefully the questions I asked will help you bring those elements out.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | June 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Dude, both the concept of Outside Men and the rules for Fudgiversalis make me go “Yeah!” You’ve either got one cool design or two, but either way, I plan on flogging you until they’re done.

    Comment by ptevis | June 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks very much, both of you. A few days ago I definitely suspected that I had two games, or one and a half, simply because the F3 stuff (as it will become known) is so much harder to use for genres that aren’t well known and understood going in. Or so I believe(d). Hell, I dunno, I guess I’ll finish that post that’s all about it!

    Comment by misuba | June 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

