Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

The Gamer Traveler Wanders In

Hello, folks, this is Daniel M. Perez, and I was fortunate to receive an invitation from Ryan to join this group in response to a thread over at Story Games. Some of you know who I am, but I’ll bore you with a little intro, so you know some more.

I am the host of The Gamer Traveler Podcast, and I own Highmoon Media Productions, my excuse to do anything media related, mainly game-stuff publication (d20 right now). I am from Puerto Rico and have lived in Miami for the last 12 years. Though I’m no stranger to game designing, I’ve been very much a d20 guy since 3.0, and though I’ve slowly been warming up to these new, “hippie,” story/narrative-style games (and actually, I have Mike and Paul to thank/blame directly, as it was thanks to HGWT and OCAR that I learned and got familiar with the games and the movement), only recently did I finally “get it” (it hurt, somewhat), and now I’m in, totally.

Blah blah blah. The reason I’m here is because I had this idea, something that had been kinda brewing in the back of my head, but that “getting” the whole narrative orientation made me feel, yeah, I can do this. The game is called Grand Tour: A Game About Traveling, and in short, it is (or I want it to be) a game that allows a group of players to create Traveler PCs, create a Tour, and share narrative control in telling the story of their trip. Players would have some sort of currency that would allow them to add new facts or complications to the story (if you think the way that Fate points fly around from GM to player as Aspects are invoked and compelled, you have the right idea of the kind of currency exchange I’m going for).

This is all still in the notes stage. I took the plunge and made my first post to Story Games with my initial idea/notes, and I have been overwhelmed by the response I’ve gotten, many of which have directly helped me solidify some of the play aspects I want to go for.

I’ll come by tomorrow and post the condensed notes I have now, based on my initial ideas and the suggestions I’ve gotten, so we can get started.

Lastly, thanks for the invitation. I’m very psyched to be a part of this.

June 13, 2007 - Posted by | Grand Tour

9 Comments »

  1. Welcome!

    You may notice that you now have a category for posting called Grand Tour, a page for Grand Tour & that you’re listed as active on the About box. You can see how we’re using it as a guideline for what to do with it (and least until something more gets written up about it, but it seems pretty straightforward).

    I liked what I saw on Story Games, and look forward to your participation in the group.

    – Ryan

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | June 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Coolness, Ryan. Thanks a lot.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. Dude, we are totally the podcaster mafia up in here.

    Welcome!

    Comment by misuba | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’d noticed that. Represent!

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  5. Excellent. I found the discussion on Story Games interesting, and I think the big issue you’re going to need to deal with now is figuring out what exactly your game is about. Are you familiar with Jared Sorensen’s Three Questions? They seem like they might be useful to you right now.

    Comment by ptevis | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hey, Paul. Yes, I know about the Big 3 and I think I’m ready to tackle them. I’ll post them here once I get it done.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  7. Excellent. ‘Cause one of the things I kept thinking as I was reading the Story Games thread was “I hope Daniel sticks to his guns as to what this game is supposed to be about,” which, of course, requires knowing what it is.

    Comment by ptevis | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  8. I’d also look into Troy Costisick’s Power 19. It contains the Big 3, and a lot more. Whether it’s a replacement for the Big 3 or the next step afterwards is different for each person.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  9. Yep, I also know about the Power 19. I’m gonna do the 3 first then later tackle the 19 once I have a clearer idea of the structure of the game.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

