Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

A New Trait

One last thing before I disconnect for Shabbat…

This morning I had this idea about adding a stat to the Traveler’s sheet: aside from Traits that define the character’s personality/idiosyncracies, I thought about adding a stat called Passion. This is a one-word Aspect-like trait that defines what is your main interest during the trip. At the moment I am thinking of making a defined list of 5 or 6 traits, things like History, Culture, Party, Rest. By choosing one, you are declaring what is your main interest during the trip, what you most hope to see/do.

Passions also engender conflict, both in terms of complications and PvP; e.g. say a Party PC wants to go bar-hopping at night, while a Culture PC wants to check out a small exhibition down the street – this could simply split the party up or force these two Travelers into a conflict of wills to see who sways the rest of the group. This kind of thing could be tied up to how much Stress you have/generate as well, providing a mechanical way to simulate those moments when people who have been traveling together for a while, regardless of how good friends they are, bash heads and possibly come to blows. This is very off-the-top-of-my-head, but I wanted to throw it out there for later reference.

June 15, 2007 - Posted by | Grand Tour

4 Comments »

  1. Not related to this comment, but I was thinking about your game as I was walking home today, and relating it to Emily Care Boss’ Breaking the Ice. It’s a two-player RPG where you play two people going on their first three dates.

    I’ve heard some interesting play where people have used that to play Superman and Batman meeting, for instance, and that makes me wonder if your game could be flexible enough to allow for people to play with assumptions — like, say, playing Greek heroes taking a trip into Hades for various reasons.

    I’m not saying this should be your design goal, but the idea of taking the premise and twisting it on its ear amused me, so I thought I would share it with you.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. Though I admit that it was not my original intent, someone brought that idea up as a suggestion over at ST, and I liked it. You bringing it up here now, I think, tells me there is something real that should be pursued. Ideally, once I have a system down, that system should be able to handle any Tour you throw at it, whether a 10-day jaunt in Europe, or Orpheus’ journey into the Underworld, or maybe even the whole Odyssey.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. Heh, this is one of my rules of design: when two people separately suggest the same thing, It Must Be Considered. But I think I mentioned this on my Playtesting episode of Master Plan — it’s been a few months.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. Yep, you did (it’s only been a couple of days since that ep. for me). 😉

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

