Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

To sleep, perchance etc.

So, I really don’t know what the next step is for OM, and I keep having ideas for new games (and even a complete draft cooked up in a couple hours at Go Play NW after playing Sea Dracula, the most awesome game ever cooked up in a couple hours). To me, this says that it’s time to lie fallow and let things germinate for a bit. I’m gonna take a few weeks off, maybe work on some music. I am still reading and commenting.

Speaking of digging around in Vincent’s old stuff, I found this thing on journeyman games. I thought of it this weekend when I flashed on a game idea so huge and terrifying that I am not even going to think about mechanics for a good long while. I’m just going to pick up some books, do some research, and plant that stake in the ground somewhere out in the future, a game I’m going to do when I’m ready.

June 25, 2007 - Posted by | Outside Men

5 Comments »

  1. Sounds good, Mike. It takes guts to make decisions like this. Does this mean we may get another ep of OCAR soon? 😉

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. In a lot of ways, A Penny For My Thoughts is consciously intended as a journeyman work. It’s not the big, huge, awesome thing that I’m dying to get out there. It’s the first step in figuring out how to put the ideas I have for games into workable form. I’ve got other ideas for things that come later. So yeah, I can see where you’re coming from.

    Comment by ptevis | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. I’m not the (only) bottleneck on OCAR, but coincidentally, yeah, we’ll have something soon.

    Comment by misuba | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  4. Let’s set a “ping time” of shortly after GenCon, to see how things are germinating for you around then. That work for you?

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  5. Totally.

    Comment by misuba | July 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

