Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

GT: The Big 3

So I finally got around to answering these! Next step, first draft.

  1. What is your game about?
    Grand Tour is a game about travel: getting a group together, planning a tour, taking the trip and reminiscing about it afterwards.
  2. How is your game about that?
    Grand Tour includes phases representing the stages of a trip as described above. Character generation results in the Travelers, who then cooperate to create a Tour, who then engage in shared narrative to describe the events of the trip itself. During this phase, players can narrate, add facts or throw in complications, seeking to rack up Memorability while avoiding Burnout and/or arguments that could make it a trip to forget.
  3. What behaviors will your game reward?
    Grand Tour rewards a shared narrative experience where different players all combine to tell one story by awarding Memorability points to a scene based on the initial narration, and any added facts and/or complications thrown in. Players are encouraged to work together towards the creation of a memorable trip, which always include some good and not-so-good times, and penalizes players who try to hog the spotlight, or set out to create a narration where everything goes wrong, by awarding Burnout points.

I’m not entirely convinced with what I wrote, but it does give me a clearer vision of what I want to achieve. Have at it.

June 28, 2007 - Posted by | Grand Tour

6 Comments »

  1. Hey Daniel

    I’m really looking forward to seeing the draft. I don’t think it’s a big deal that you’re not convinced with what you wrote. The hardest part for me so far is getting this stuff down on paper because I’m never happy with things the first time I write them.

    Comment by jhimmelman | June 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. […] Originally posted at Master Mines.  […]

    Pingback by Grand Tour: The Big Three Design Questions - Highmoon’s Ponderings - DMPerez.com - The Domain of Daniel M.Perez | June 29, 2007 | Reply

  3. So, if I’m reading this correctly, players need to walk the fine line between too many complications and too few. Is that right?

    Comment by ptevis | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  4. You know, Paul, I really hadn’t thought about it like that, but yes, that’s it. A successful trip is a constant balancing act between the individuals and the group, as well as between the awesome moments of travel and the mundane details of life away from home, all spiced up by those complications Life (the sadistic GM it is) throws in, and how people deal with them. So yeah, the players should ride that line between a blah trip and a disaster on ice.

    Now I just need to figure out how to do that.

    I’ve been quiet these days but I am working on a first draft, by the way.

    And Paul, I heard on your show you got to play “The Committee for the Exploration of Mysteries.” Eric chimed in on my first thread at ST and suggested I might be able to draw some stuff out of it. I haven’t gotten to read it yet, but from your play, do you think there might be stuff in there that might help me with GT?

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  5. Eric’s game is definitely a take on this type of structure, albeit a distinctly more pulpy-action one. I would recommend having a look at it.

    Comment by ptevis | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  6. Excellent. I’ll move it to the top of the pile, then.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | July 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

