Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Know Thyself outline

So, in preparation for writing the draft this weekend, I’ve written up my outline.  Actually, I’ve written & re-written it, since I often write by hand in my journal before writing on the computer.  I’ve posted up the outline at:  http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfn8n37p_24fbb7m7

Those of you who have played in my earlier games or have a grasp on what the new version of the game does, what do you think?  Am I leaving something out?  Feel free to point out anything — don’t assume I’m going to cover it and just didn’t put it on the outline.

June 30, 2007 - Posted by | Know Thyself

3 Comments »

  1. This is where I put my standard request to game designers: Keep the reader in mind when structuring the book. (Dogs in the Vineyard and The Zorcerer of Zo both do this well.) Nothing in your outline makes me overly concerned, but keep this in mind as you flesh it out.

    Comment by ptevis | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. The draft looks fine. It really makes me want to see what you end up with, I can tell you that much. I hope to hear you talking to me as a reader a lot, so I know what you want me to see and focus on.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. Paul, so noted. I already have this in mind, but the reminder is helpful — especially to go back and look at Dogs. Something else I’m going to look at are the rules of board games I have that I think are particularly well-constructed, since my game does have a bit of that feel.

    Daniel, I plan on drifting in and out of “game text” and “directly engage the reader” mode, with different styles to let you know which I’m doing. I’m not sure if that’ll be via marginalia, boxed text, or some other means, and I’ll likely come to can conclusion when I get to layout.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

