Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

That Was Easier Than I Thought

Ryan sent me my requested nudging this afternoon, as the rules of Master Mines dictate. Thinking I wouldn’t have time to do a whole new draft, I decided to look over my playtest feedback from Go Play Northwest and figure out where the manuscript needed to be changed. In the process, I discovered that the changes were smaller than I thought, and that some things I said needed to into the text were already there. An hour or so later, and *poof*, draft 5 was born.

I think that draft captures all of my current thoughts on the game. It’s getting close to the form in which I’ll release it as an ashcan at GenCon. My plan now is to (hopefully) do a little playtesting at Origins, and then start work on layout for GenCon. I’m now pretty happy with where the game is mechanically, so what I need to find out is two-fold. First, does the manuscript make sense, and second, does the game do what I expect without having me explain it? Comments on both are appreciated.

July 2, 2007 - Posted by | A Penny For My Thoughts

7 Comments »

  1. I’ll ask my playtest crew to read it. They haven’t bee exposed to the game yet. Most of them are coming over tonight, and I’ll ask them in person about it.

    I’ll give you my comments as well, but I’m a bit contaminated now to get you the best draft-feedback possible.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’ll read it tomorrow and let me know how it “speaks” to me.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. I’ll read it on the way up to Origins and we can discuss it in person

    Comment by jhimmelman | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. Before I read this more thoroughly, a quibble: “de-protagonization” doesn’t mean what you say it does on the final page. You can let other people define your character in part or in full, and it won’t necessarily de-protagonize you; de-protagonization is when others render your character no longer a protagonist, but a minor, unimportant, powerless character. Very much not something this game encourages, I don’t think.

    Comment by misuba | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. After reading this more thoroughly!

    I found that fully half of the game seems to be embedded into one long paragraph. It might be useful to break that up a bit; here’s how I’d do it.

    While doing this, you will discover that there is a distance between your recalled self and the present you. You will be able to describe any details of your memory except for your own actions. What other people did or said, how you felt, what you wanted, or what you remembered is fine. However, whenever you recall yourself speaking or acting, your memory will grow indistinct. This blockage comes from the core of your amnesia. Your amnesia is a result of something that you did or said, and your mind has constructed these barriers as a self-defense mechanism. You are the reason you cannot remember the source of the trauma.

    However, you must confront your choices and their consequences to have any hope of recovering. This is where the Psychopomps will help you. The drug allows them to transcend the limits your own mind, and they can help you reconstruct what happen. When you reach a point in the memory where you did or said something, hold out one of your pennies in a closed fist to one of the Psychopomps, saying “What did I do/say then?”

    Due to the effects of the drug, he or she will have a keen insight into your lost memory. He or she will tell you in a sentence or two what the drug allows the Psychopomp to see that you did or said. This insight may not be exactly right, however, as it is difficult to peer deeply into another’s innermost memories. After the first of your fellow patients has spoken, say “Or was it. . .” and present your closed fist to a second Psychopomp. He or she will describe a vision of what happened.

    From these two insights, you must choose which one is correct. One will feel more right to you; it may not be the more pleasant option, but it will be the correct one. Say “Yes, I remember now,” repeat what the Psychopomp said, and open your hand to present the penny to the person who helped you to remember it. With this insight into your past words or actions, you will find that you are able to continue the story.

    Comment by misuba | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. Good catch. I think I just kept adding to this paragraph during the writing process, leading to. . . well, you saw what it led to. I’ve now broken it up as you advised.

    Comment by ptevis | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Cool. I’m gonna give the summary another once-over. Also, though: I think you might want to be more specific in the very first paragraph of the Memory Seeding section, just to be sure you get the right amount of amnesia.

    Comment by misuba | July 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

