Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Nailing down the experience

I had the day off today so I took some time to think about my game. I went back and listened to the recording of the deign round table, worked on the cover a bit so I could focus my thoughts on the game without necessarily writing about it ( if you’re interested: http://somniturne.com/images/kingdomcoverwip.jpg . It’s far from being done but it’s getting somewhere).

I’ve come to be able to articulate what I want the play experience to be. I want the game to be a gritty urban fantasy mystery. Every session you get a little closer to solving the mystery of what happened to you. I want the game to evoke a feeling of being stranded and not having anyone to help you except the people who are just as bad off as you are.

July 9, 2007 - Posted by | Kingdom of Nothing

6 Comments »

  1. “I want the game to evoke a feeling of being stranded and not having anyone to help you except the people who are just as bad off as you are.”

    This is the golden sentence here.

    Comment by ptevis | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Seconded. This, I think, could be the core of your five-second elevator pitch.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  3. I wonder about this sentence. It sounds to me like a recipe for a game where the players at the table have to help each other but constantly resent it… which may or may not be an experience I want to have with my friends for a few hours.

    Comment by misuba | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. He doesn’t have to write a game you want to play, Mike.

    Comment by ptevis | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. I’m curious why you think they would resent helping each other? The way I see it is because the characters are in the same situation they have a bond. I hadn’t thought about it until now, but some of the things I’m envisioning are close to “Lost in Translation.”

    Comment by jhimmelman | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  6. Of course I’m taking this sentence on its own and don’t actually know how radically you plan to reorient the rules around it. But I take the fragment “I want the game to evoke a feeling” as meaning a feeling in the players, and, well, maybe I am worrying too much about the tendencies of existing gamers, but I’m concerned about players being just as bad off as each other and consistently choosing to help themselves as a result.

    Premature fretting, most likely, but I’d be more comfortable if our golden sentence said more about that common bond.

    Comment by misuba | July 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

