Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

RFC: Know Thyself card values

For those not in the computer world, “RFC” stands for “Request for Comments.” I know that’s the point of this design group, but I wanted to call specific attention to this post, because I’m looking for some specific comments:

I made a spreadsheet of the currents values for Know Thyself cards. You can find it at:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pJAQQFQpO0H2aeDRwUndSBw
Here are what the three columns are:

  • Locations: Places where action can happen.  There should feel like a decent amount of action & roleplaying could happen there before a new location is drawn.  Old locations that ended up not working were ones like “Foyer,” where it felt like there was nothing to do *except* move on because of how confined the space felt.
  • Characters:  “People” that Chorus players will end up causing themselves and other Chorus players to play.  Singular & plural are both good.
  • Tone:  An element that will be worked in the memory eventually regained, as well as an element to be worked into the outcome of the conflict.  (Honestly, I’m not 100% attached to that latter idea, but we’re playing with the various Chorus Characters as aspects of your mind that are actively trying to remind you of something, and since they also tie into the memory, tying it into the action seems to work — at least sometimes.)

I’m looking for some more ideas, because I’m not happy with all that I have.  I have some in red italics that I will definitely be replacing because they’re duplicating (either directly or very closely) another entry.  I’m also interested in getting a sense of what people think of those lists as constraining elements in my game.  One of the ideals behind Know Thyself is “creativity through constraints,” and I hope to hit that mark but not at such an extent that the game feels lame because of it.

July 11, 2007 - Posted by | Know Thyself

4 Comments »

  1. I’m thinking Hotel could be unpacked: a lobby is different from a suite, which is different from a cheap, dirty room. (Or I suppose that could all come from Tone?)

    I do know that Hotel is the first thing I looked for. You could play a game like this all set in one building, as many people are working on or have done (anyone else remember “Night Floors” from Delta Green?).

    Comment by misuba | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Originally, I wanted people to play with Tones like that, but that didn’t gel. The usage that did was collecting the winning cards from Conflicts & using that the influence memory generation.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. What about a School or a classroom or the lunchroom/mess hall for locations? I looked, but I did not see any. I was also thinking about a basement in a house. I know it’s closed, but a lot of stuff happens in basements.

    For characters, I was thinkng the Men in Black, though that is pretty close to two groups that you have (spec ops and men in suits.) What about nerds or people dressed in Star Wars costumes or computer programmers.

    Do you want any happy Tones like Peace, Contentment, Security?

    Those are my comments at the moment.

    Comment by commondialog | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. Keep it up guys. I’m noting this ideas down. Good stuff.

    Chris: Yeah, propose some happy/positive Tones. I could use them for sure.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

