Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Know Thyself’s outline draft

Since I talked about outlines and have been talking about how I’ve been working on my outline, I figured I should post up my draft: http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfn8n37p_26vmtjw7

Keep in mind that it’s a draft, and I’ll be re-ordering it later, possibly after writing large chunks of the text first, though.  I’ve planning on diving into the text tomorrow and then on Sunday after I get back from Oakland.    I think I’ve been adding to this outline since Tuesday afternoon — I’ve been trying to keep new ideas to a minimum, but there are some rule changes I was looking at making, so that line’s a blur.

I know that Chris & Mike talked about how outlining hasn’t worked well for them, at least for a purpose like this.  I think where it’s working for me is that I’ve gone through six or seven playtests of my game, and I have a deadline thanks to the Ashcan Front.  So, both of those together change my frame of mind when working on this project.

Of course, I welcome comments on what you think about my outline’s structure, flow, or what you’re reading that differs from what you understood about the game (though, since it’s based on new playtests, that would actually be all of you).

July 13, 2007 - Posted by | Know Thyself

3 Comments »

  1. Looks good to me. You seem to have a pretty clear idea how the game is supposed to work now. I like the rough ordering, as it flows logically. “Here’s what this game is about, here’s how you set it up, here’s how you play, and here’s how it ends.” Keep rolling.

    Comment by ptevis | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks. Because of the short format of the game, I’ve been looking more closely at board game & card game rulesets than before, which prompted this sort of flow.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. 8. ???
    9. Profit!!

    No, but actually this looks good. Totally clear (as far as it goes (that is, as far as heading 7 (okay, I’ll stop))).

    Comment by misuba | July 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

