Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Master Mines talked about on Master Plan

So, at Go Play Northwest, Mike, Paul & I sat down and did an episode of Master Plan where we talked about our little design collective.  You can check it out at: http://masterplan.libsyn.com/index.php?post_id=234736

I know that Paul’s also mentioned us on Have Games, Will Travel.  I also spoke with the cool cats at Canon Puncture about Master Mines, which prompted Chris to talk with me about joining — the result which you see now.  Hell, since we’re *all* podcasters (at least at the moment) and a few of us will be at the Ashcan Front, I’m sure we’ll get even more exposure.  This brings to surface an idea I’ve been kicking around for a couple weeks or so now:  would anyone else besides just me be interested in a Master Mines logo that we could put on our games?  I think the idea of “hey, this game came out of this awesome collective that my friends and I do” in graphic form would be neat.

I don’t know if it fits with anything that we’re doing on our ashcans (for those of us who will have them at this year’s GenCon), but I’d like to know if this is something that’s “in scope” or “out of scope” of the group?  I’m not really looking at marketing a “brand” so much as a badge of pride we can be proud to display.

July 13, 2007 - Posted by | News & Updates

8 Comments »

  1. I’d do it. I think it would be a great idea and bring a little more exposure for the group.

    Comment by commondialog | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. I also mentioned it on my ‘cast, Gamer: the Podcasting.

    I’d be down for some kind of badgey thing. If you want I can throw something together for a logo.

    Comment by jhimmelman | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. Jeff: definitely! I’d love to see what you put together.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. I could go either way. One question worth asking: What are we hoping to achieve with this exposure? Outside feedback in the design process? Greater mindshare which will hopefully translate into increased sales when we release stuff? Something else?

    Comment by ptevis | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. While I don’t see more exposure as the primary reason for the logo, I think the main thing I’d like to see happen with more exposure is others taking the model and trying it themselves. That’s my main deal with talking about Master Mines to other people.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. Yeah, that came across pretty clearly on the latest Master Plan.

    Comment by ptevis | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. I just wanted to make it clear that’s the other half of my intention with the logo, along with “Dude! My friends and I rock!”

    I don’t see Master Mines is a great brand for marketing, no more than Game Chef is. And while getting people to pop on over and comment is cool — and we’ve had a few of those already — there are better ways of achieving that than with a logo on a finished product.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. I’m down for a logo, sure. I got the ep, I just need to listen to it.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | July 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

