Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Ugh

So I ran a playtest last night which went pretty horribly. In general having a bad playtest is a good thing because it calls your attention to areas that need work, but it’s always tough reexamining so many things you thought were solid.

Character creation worked really well as always. I don’t need to touch that.

The system, which has worked up to this point, fell apart. I’ve come to see how clunky and overcomplicated it is. I need to tear it down and rebuild it almost from scratch.

The specific problems I encountered were:

-It’s waaaaay to easy to gain despair. Combat is stupid lethal.
-the craps and naturals thing needs to go. It’s an unnecessary complication and it’s gimmicky
-people didn’t gain tokens fast enough
-I don’t think die-steps are working out. I want to try to do everything with 2d6.

There are a few things I’m looking to salvage:

-I like rolling your despair vs hope
-I liked how betting worked, but I wanted it to happen more often

That’s about it. I need to seriously think about how to fix this system. I want to tie it in to my design goals a little more.

The other thing the game is screaming for is a chapter on framing the game. Breaking things into scenes or chapters where specific things occur. The game follows a pretty strict arc, and I want to define that a little further.

All in all, I’m pretty bummed that things were as rocky as they were, but I’d rather deal with it now than later on in the process

July 14, 2007 - Posted by | Kingdom of Nothing

2 Comments »

  1. I just got home & I’m pretty tired. I’ll post with more but I wanted to tell you this: Around four of the six or seven playtests for Know Thyself went horribly. I was getting disheartened, especially with GenCon rolling around.

    So keep working at it. It’ll get better (not easier in terms of work, but easier/better in terms of the emotional cost/payoff) as you grow to understand your game.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the support. I think this is going to be for the best in the end. I’ve got some ideas for changing the system I’ll probably end up posting pretty soon.

    Comment by jhimmelman | July 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

