Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Draft update before the weekend

So, it’s almost 3am here, and I’m at 5,138 words. (I’m not happy with my progress, but I can’t change the past.)  I think the draft will clock in at around 8K.

Recent additions: Ending a Dream Scene, much of Triggering Memories, a bit more on designer’s notes (notably how I have some false memories and how that’s made it into the design).

This game progressed a lot when I dropped the “This game could be used for character creation for another campaign” idea. Sure, it still could be, but I’m no longer allowing that as a design goal, so I’ve become free to experiment. I’m really liking what I’ve got here, though it’s become a lot more specialized since its origin. I have to wonder if I’ll be able to find ten people who like the idea & game play.

July 21, 2007 - Posted by | Know Thyself

2 Comments »

  1. What did you end up at?

    Comment by commondialog | July 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’m past the 6K mark now — this is my birthday weekend & we wrapped up our Burning Empires game yesterday, so I got no work done on Saturday. I’m going out to dinner tonight, but when I get back I’m hoping to blow past 7K.

    I suspect tomorrow will be my second-to-final playtest before GenCon, and I’m going to have them go through the draft, so the goal is to have it ready in time to print out copies for them. That will hopefully involve a round of alpha self-editing before printing the draft.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | July 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment