Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

post Gencon wrapup

so how’d it go for you guys?

For me gencon was really productive. I sold quite a few copies and I’m fairly certain I’ll get some feedback. Even if I don’t though, I had a fantastic playtest with jeff, judd, their friend kevin and my friend Emerson. The ideas that came out of that session were totally worth the work I put into getting the ashcan out. I’m also glad I got it out when I did because another book, Urchin came out that was uncomfortably similar to mine. Its different enough in its execution that I’m not too worried. Still, it threw me for a bit of a loop.

So where do I go from here? I’m eventually going to change my status back to active, but not yet. I’m going to take some time to play some stuff and let feedback roll in. I’m also going to create a website for the game where I’ll be posting all the drafts that will be coming out. I’ve already got ideas, but I’m going to get some distance before I dive back in.

What about the rest of you?

August 21, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Jeff – thanks for starting this thread so I didn’t have to. I had forgotten about Urchin… hmm.

    Alternajeff – is there any chance you could make your ashcan draft available to the group?

    Ryan – how can a brother score some cards? Are they all gone?

    All of you – what next?

    Comment by misuba | August 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. GenCon reminded me of how much I love my own game. Seriously. Demo after demo, I was rediscovering why I designed it. I have to sit down at Gateway and play a full game of it.

    I also learned some important things about the terminology of the game. Certain things (Memory Seeds, Questions) are getting renamed as a result.

    Finally, I was absolutely stoked by the reaction I got some people, most especially Emily Care-Boss. I can’t wait to hear what people have to say after playing it.

    Comment by ptevis | August 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. I wasn’t selling anything, but I was 100% stoked for all the Master Mines with games at the Ashcan Front, and pushing for them all the way. As far as my general Gen Con feelings: it was awesome, plain and simple.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | August 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. Mike- I got plenty decks left. I’ll hook you up.

    The Jeffs kicked a lot of ass. Kudos to you both.

    I went in with perhaps higher expectations than I should have, but that’s not a bad thing: I learned what I should expect, and by the end of the first day I understood how to realign said expectations better.

    That’s code for “I’m not disappointed by selling only 14 copies.”

    I call this my “freshman” GenCon year. Seriously, the lessons learned were invaluable, and next year I’m looking forward to having a fully-done game to shill. I learned about what I’ll need to do in order to do a good demo. I’ll also be working the booth more next year, and leaving the podcast shilling to the new guard.

    As for what’s next? Last night I got hit in the face with an idea that fits my Damned Anonymous mechanical ideas better than D.A. does, so I think I’m going to work on that next as my main project, and give Know Thyself a bit of chill time to get feedback and to approach it from a fresher mind.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Ryan, Josh just came by to record our post-Gen Con thoughts, and I saw he had a copy of Know Thyself. I told him to come early on Sunday evening so we could play it and give you some feedback. So, consider it as if you’d sold 15 copies (and I totally would love a set of cards – those cards alone are worth a whole mini-game right there).

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  6. Daniel – Since you asked, we’ll work something out. I will say that if you didn’t say “We’ll try the game,” you would be triggering on my “people will buy my game for the cards and not to actually play the game” fear.

    But yeah, the cards are damned cool if I say so myself. And I do, since apparently I’m Ryan Fucking Macklin.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  7. Yes you are, dude.
    Now that I know Josh is totally digging story games, it changes everything and we can do a lot more. Bringing him to Gen Con was one of the best things to happen to our game group ever.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  8. Yeah, Josh was good people. As is Master Miner out there. Plus, those of you Ashcaners out there, the awesomeness of your games has both given me a sense of jealousy and something to shoot for.

    In general, something rather unique happened afterhours at GenCon: I played Neoborn Genesis Honor Blade. It happened to be called Tenra Bansho and Andy K is translating it (minor detail), but it was interesting to play the game that did a lot of what I want NGHB to do. After talking with Ryan, I have sharpened my resolve because I know that NGHB can be done AND I think I’ve got a clear direction to take it so that it both rocks and is its own game.

    Comment by commondialog | August 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

