Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

APFMT PBEMs: Many Birds, One Stone

Because the world doesn’t have enough acronyms.

It occurred to me last week that A Penny For My Thoughts is well-suited to Play By E-Mail, so I posted on Story Games to see if there’d be some interest in trying it out. Lo and behold, I got twelve players. Today, I started four simultaneous games of it. They are, unsurprisingly, moving at different paces, but even if only one of them finishes, they’ll be worth it. Why? Let me count the ways.

  1. Playtest feedback. Duh.
  2. Exposure. Building buzz, as Jeff H. points out, is good.
  3. Instant Actual Play transcripts. These will be useful for #2 above, but also because I want to include some play transcripts in the book. This way I don’t have to “fake” a session (which wouldn’t be very good anyway) or type up a recording (which would be tedious).
  4. Get my Art Director some experience with the game. He’s playing in one of the playtests because it’s good for us to be on the same page about how it.
  5. Play the game I designed for myself. The demos I ran at GenCon reminded me how much I liked the game, so I wanted to play it more.

I’ll let you all know how goes.

September 10, 2007 - Posted by | A Penny For My Thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. As one of the player’s, I’m curious about something. In our playtest group, you asked for a volunteer to have 0 pennies to start, and you started with two. Is this something you did on all of your games, or are you changing it up?

    Either way, I’m curious as to how well you think this different starting point works out?

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | September 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’m doing that for all of them.

    Comment by ptevis | September 10, 2007 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a great idea Paul. Hmm, I might just have to attempt something similar with Giants.

    Comment by thelostgm | September 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m sorry I missed it. If you do it again, shoot me an email. Jeff, I’d be down for a PBEM of Giants.

    Comment by commondialog | September 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

