Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

A Procedural Question

I have not had much occasion to work on Neoborn Genesis Honor Blade the last two weeks because I decided to undertake the Sight and Sound design challenge.  I have not posted any of my issues with the challenge to this group because I was not sure that it was appropriate.  But I talked to Ryan and he said I should post to you, fellow Master Miners, to see what the group thinks about posing thoughts/questions/issues relating to game design for games that are not listed next to our name over there on the right. 

I would think that next April, there will be a number of us participating in Game Chef and I would hope that we could lean on each other for extra support and advice.  I know there’s another game contest in October I am interested in participating in and I would like to be able to ask questions to the group.  Any thoughts?

September 21, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I’m not sure it’s appropriate to be honest. Places like the forge or storygames end up being really good sounding boards for ideas and advice, but I think that this place needs to be focused on bringing an idea to fruition.

    Kind of drawing from the playtest blues post, the further you get into designing a game the more frustrating it gets. Our perfect concepts end up getting spoiled by developing them. Side projects and contests can be helpful to get some perspective, but my fear is that we would get too enticed by new ideas to finish the big ones we’re working on now.

    I’d like to hear if anyone feels differently

    Comment by jhimmelman | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. That’s fair Jeff. I respect that opinion.

    I did have one thought though. Part of a Master Mines membership is twice weekly posts on the game you’re designing. As part of the statuses, perhaps we can have one for Game Chef or Design Contest or something. For me, contests are a directed learning exercise and therefore very valuable to NGHB in an direct way.

    Maybe I’m splitting hairs. I’ve been known to do that.

    Comment by commondialog | September 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

