Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Figuring out what my game’s about

So, I’ve been chewing on what Know Thyself is really about. On my blog, I posted that I think it’s less about an amnesiac and more about someone traveling in time who becomes an amnesiac in the process of going back in time. I came to this conclusion because the game centers around a bad event that happened to you that you want to change and that during the process you learn about the future of that event.

This doesn’t mean much mechanically, except that it gives me the context many of my questions need, like the issues I’m having with Attachments not quite having a place in the game.

Anyway, here are my initial notes: http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfn8n37p_33f7qj46

September 26, 2007 - Posted by | Know Thyself

5 Comments »

  1. When’s the last time you played a complete game?

    Comment by misuba | September 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. Two weeks before GenCon. Right now my playtest crew wants a break from it, because we played it hard for several weeks in a row. I have also found I needed a break to see the forest for the trees, as it were.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | September 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. Ryan, reading through your comments, I had the *bleep* yeah moment. I like that idea of time traveling memory loss way better than amnesiac in a crazy dream space.

    I’m not sure why, but the concreteness of the time travel thing still allows you to have some strange experiences that are out of synch with reality, but it makes more sense. It’s more solid and less cinematic/Dark City-ish.

    I hope that means something. That’s my 2 cents anyway.

    Comment by commondialog | September 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m with Chris: I think it’s a good change. Basically, it becomes like Quantum Leap but without Al. Which is a good thing in my book.

    Comment by ptevis | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. I like this small shift a lot. Why? Because this shifts the game from an Amnesiac other, a character basically, to something that might draw on our own real experiences either consciously or subconsciously. Focusing on going into the past to prevent something brings an interest that I hadn’t felt for the game as of yet.

    Comment by iamclyde | September 30, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

