Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Get Out Of My Head

What am I doing with A Penny For My Thoughts right now? Playtesting and outlining. On the former front, I’m still running the four play-by-email playtests I talked about before. Hopefully those will finish up this week, though I suspect it’ll probably be next week for at least one of them. Once those are done, I’ll be picking the participants brains about the experience. I also got some great playtest recordings and feedback from some fellow podcasters. I need to listen to those recordings, but the comments are really useful.

On the latter front, I’m working with my editor (Hi, Ryan!) to get the outline for the book settled. I’m at the point in the design and development process where my primary concern is that I communicate effectively what I want the game to do and how it’s supposed to work. This process is doing a reasonable job of forcing me to get it out of my head and onto the page.

What does the future hold? First, lots of writing, and then, more playtesting. The current plan is to do a beta playtest starting around the beginning of November with what will (hopefully) be the actual version of the game text. I’m going to be re-writing a lot stuff from the ashcan version and adding material as well, so I want to make sure that that version gets extensively tested as well.

October 1, 2007 - Posted by | A Penny For My Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

