Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

SKMAV: What’s a scene anyway?

So I’ve been thinking about how to slice a scene up to make a monster out of it. I’m not sure I’ll have questions to ask so hopefully this is interesting enough to get your brain turning. It’s basically brainstorming.

One way would to be to consider a scene purposefully. What I mean to say is to look at a scene for the purpose it serves, this would lead to considering:

  • The Goal of the scene.
  • Character Development.
  • Give information / Create information
  • Create unanswered questions to create viewer tension.
  • Further add to the development of the theme of the story
  • The Scene’s central conflict.
  • The scenes conclusion.
  • What the scene is setting up next, unless it is the epilogue.

This doesn’t seem to leave a lot to grab before rolling dice, as the dice are to decide the outcome of the conflict, and I think will also be about establishing what is being set up in the next scene. I think that it suggest that Monsters are likely to be less powerful and should become uglier as the game goes on. Perhaps for the creation of the person whose story we are collectively telling we paint them now, and work back to the trauma? If I’m missing something let me know.

We could also consider the scene in an emotional manner. What are the emotions and what might they look like shaped into a monster? What are some valid emotions to make Monsters?

  • Anger / Rage
  • Pain
  • Schadenfreude
  • Maliciousness
  • Fear / Terror
  • Loss
  • Indifference

Did I miss anything? How else might I look at dividing a scene into some kind of useful pieces?

October 18, 2007 - Posted by | Silence Keeps Me A Victim | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Indifference seems a weak/hard thing to build a scene around. Do you want only negative emotions? I’d add in greed, lust, sorrow, arrogance, bigotry.

    Comment by robertbohl | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Rob,

    I only envisioned negative emotions, I’m not seeing positive emotions which likely means I haven’t explained well enough. I’ve got a new post, maybe that will be more helpful. (Actually I’m about to work on the post now, so in a few minutes….)

    Comment by iamclyde | October 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

