Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

NGHB…Moving Slower Than I Thought

Unfortunately, the holidays and an unhealthy dose of real life have served to limit my writing time.  However, I have been really thinking about the chargen from my mecha post and some of the things from Human Events that Ben had mentioned.  Mister Taggert, I hope that one day you resume writing that game.  I’d like to help.  Until then, I’ll steal what I can.  🙂

I have been using any downtime I have to really think out how the mechagen/chargen part works.  I know there was the idea that they should be separate and that mecha gen might come first.  However, I was really thinking that I might combine them and have them simultaneously.  I think that is in line with some of the suggestions and will increase the ability to have a character and a mecha play off one another.  I have also decided that mecha will have one passion which will be “compellable” by the GM or the player under circumstances (circumstances TBD.)

I’m also thinking more about my advancement mechanic as I want to make sure that characters are progressing towards … something.

November 28, 2007 - Posted by | Mecha

14 Comments »

  1. I agree with the combo of mechagen and chargen. It should be a symbiotic relationship. The problem could be complexity. If you can keep it simple, or at least quick, keep them together.

    Comment by orklord | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. I think I have a pretty simple way to do chargen. Basically everything will have four stats, though as it stands those four stats vary based on the class of thing they are. So a mecha has: attack, defense, speed, technology. A character has: strength, agility, intelligence, and will. A building would have a different four. A monster/animal would have four other attributes.

    All will have passions.

    Comment by commondialog | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. Chris, I was thinking about something similar to your “things have four stats, but different” for my “therapy” project, Mythender. Here’s what I have to ask, though: How would a building’s stat relate to a mecha’s stat or a person’s state? Are you renaming them just for flavor, or are they actually different things? If the former, why muddy the waters with different names — if the latter, why is everything having four stats important to you?

    And what passions will a building have? At first glance, this strikes me as being creative for creative’s sake. I could, of course, be very wrong, but I’d like to hear more about what brought you to this line of thinking and what you’re looking to accomplish by this.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  4. Ryan, good questions.

    My first thought was uniformity. I really latched on to the idea Ben had that everything could scale. I had already decided that chargen would be four attributes and I easily created four for mecha. So four seemed good. Plus, I liked the idea of a mecha having passions. It felt anime-ish to me.

    Now, I understand the confusion as it relates to the buildings so I am glad you asked the question because it triggered something in my mind.

    I mentioned something a while ago about the characters being good enough to blow through mobs like the recycled battle sequences in anime. That is still very much a real idea in the back of my head. The average NPC who is not named for lack of a better term is just there for scenery/window dressing. They’re not going to have passions individually nor will they need attributes. They might if they form a mob, but if they are not important enough to be important, they should not be rolled.

    The same goes for buildings. If they’re backdrop, they’re backdrop. But if they are major parts of the story, then I don’t see that giving them something they can call on as being outside the realm. I see this as being the evil fortress that can withstand extra damage or maybe buildings will have an attack rating if they have traps. I haven’t fleshed the idea out fully I will admit, but I think that it’s the direction I want to head.

    Comment by commondialog | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. Consider the following: you don’t have four stats. You have eight — just that four are on one portion of your character sheet and involve one set of narrative & tactical bits, and the other four are a part of this other thing. Think about then when thinking about other elements of your game and how various stats interact.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. What if the mech stats are derived from the character stats?
    What if the mech stats are an exponent of the character stats?

    Comment by orklord | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  7. The problem I see with doing that is what happens if someone is piloting another mecha. I see as part of the coolness of the initial mecha being a reflection of its pilots is that sometimes the pilots have to switch. What happens to a character without his/her safety blanket.

    Comment by commondialog | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  8. Chris, what is it that you intent to do with this option of swapping out mechs? It seems important enough to you to where you keep bringing it up, but (unless I missed something, which is very possible) I don’t see where you go into the things you want to do with that option.

    If the answer is “genre emulation,” then answer me this: why do they do that in genre?

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  9. Not at all. The reason I want to allow switching of mecha is that the whole point of doing mecha generation at the same time as chargen is to produce a mecha that is somehow representative of the character. Either the mecha reflects or covers the character’s strengths and weaknesses.

    So I think it is just as interesting to see what happens when a character loses his/her security blanket or suddenly is in a mecha that has none of the weaknesses of the character’s mecha.

    Comment by commondialog | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  10. Chris, I don’t think you answered my question. Could you tell me what you plan on doing with that? Right now I’m reading that you aren’t planning on doing anything, just looking to keep the option open, and that seems a little bit like a siren call of cool to me.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  11. so, what is the character stats are modified by the mech’s?

    example (in White Wolf Storyteller system terms for easy math and my own comprehension):
    PC has a 4 Strength
    Mech 1 is a brute of a thing and has a *10 multiplier.
    Mech 2 is a scout mech and only a *6 multiplier.

    PC in Mech 1 has Strength rating of 40.
    PC in Mech 2 has Strength rating of 24.

    This allow the mech to differentiate, remain simple, and “cover” for PC weaknesses.

    Comment by orklord | December 1, 2007 | Reply

  12. Hey Chris, I’m curious at what stage the game is at. Do you have any mechanics written down?

    Comment by robertbohl | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  13. I have some scratches on some paper, why?

    Comment by commondialog | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  14. Knowing where you are gives me context for the level of detail to give you.

    Comment by robertbohl | December 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

