Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Goals for Misspent Youth (December 2007)

I was reading some of the posts in The Rules category and decided I had material for a Goals post.

As I am finishing my degree, I’m going to have a lot more free time. I also anticipate my tax refund coming in to fund the game in February or so. Therefore, the following goals:

  1. January 1, 2008: Finish a rules-outline redesign on Misspent Youth.
  2. January 31, 2008:  Finish a month of exhaustive alpha playtesting on the new ruleset (hopefully at least 4 games).
  3. February 15, 2008: Provided a re-redesign isn’t needed, have a first draft game text to show to artists and a copy editor.
  4. February 28, 2008: Pay for art, layout, editing and other costs for the book, setting aside some money for a 50-100 copy print-run via Lulu or Lightning Source.
  5. March – April 2008: Beta testing, redesigning as needed.
  6. April – May 2008: Work on an ashcan or if I’m confident enough, a final version of the text.
  7. May – June 2008: More beta playtests, refining draft.
  8. July 2008: Printing 50-100 books or ashcans.
  9. August 2008: Gen Con release, hopefully at the Playcollective booth.
December 6, 2007 - Posted by | Goals, Misspent Youth

4 Comments »

  1. February 15, 2008: Provided a re-redesign isn’t needed, have a first draft game text to show to artists and a copy editor.

    I hate to naysay this early on, but this should be a red flag that you won’t make your schedule — if anything, you’ll be spending a lot of time trying to get playtesters to try the game and give you feedback, and that takes some time.

    This reminds me that I should post up my thoughts on how I handled my ashcan, because I screwed it up pushing for GenCon rather than actually organically trying to make me game work. I mean, royally screwed the pooch there. This schedule reminds me of that some, though with more time than I gave myself for with Know Thyself.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Ryan, as you don’t wish to be seen to be naysaying, I don’t wish to be seen as defensive. However, I will assure you that if I’m not sure the game is ready, I won’t even ashcan it. I’m comfortable with letting this take as long as it needs to. That said, I think setting myself some goals and target dates will help to push me. If I’m not pushed, I won’t act. I know myself well enough to know that.

    Could you elaborate on this a bit more:

    I hate to naysay this early on, but this should be a red flag that you won’t make your schedule — if anything, you’ll be spending a lot of time trying to get playtesters to try the game and give you feedback, and that takes some time.

    (PS: Also, keep in mind that I’ve been working on this game on and off since Gen Con ’06, and that I have already ran 8 alpha playtests)

    Comment by robertbohl | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. PPS: And by “sure it’s ready” I mean that people beta playtest it, are able to understand it, and don’t see any major flaws.

    Comment by robertbohl | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. However, I will assure you that if I’m not sure the game is ready, I won’t even ashcan it.

    With that said, cool. Also, I didn’t realize it was playtested that much. I’m just wary of anyone who schedules like this before their game has hit blind playtests (including myself).

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

