Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

NGHB Goals

I like what Robert did with his goals, so I am going to do the same for NGHB.  I admire Robert’s goal of getting a publishable game by GenCon.  And I’m going to shoot for the same.

January 15, 2008: Have a playtestable draft up and running.
February 1, 2008: Have first playtest completed
February 15, 2008: Have second draft finished
March 1, 2008: Have second playtest completed
March 15, 2008: Have an alpha version including public domain graphics and a “look” to the book
May 1, 2008: Have beta version ready.  Deadline for artwork to be due
July 1, 2008: Have final version ready to go and headed for the printers.
August 14, 2008: Sell game with whoever will have me.

I figure that meeting this goal depends on two things.  Me really bearing down and writing and aggressively pursuing playtests.  I also think that publishing the game will present its own set of unique challenges for which I am utterly unprepared, so I will need some help from the group.  Scratch that, I will nee a LOT of help from the group.

December 7, 2007 - Posted by | Goals, Mecha

5 Comments »

  1. Common,

    I will be glad to playtest with you.

    Comment by orklord | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. To be utterly honest, this looks so aggressive that I think it’s unrealistic. You’re discounting the amount of time good playtesting will take and how long editing and layout take. And, frankly, you’re doing that “rush to GenCon” thing that makes so many games crap.

    You’re welcome to prove me wrong, but when you’re still trying to figure out what exactly your game is trying to do, putting these goals on top of that strikes me as hubris.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. I’ll more lightly back up Ryan and say: Just make sure the game is really really good by Gen Con and you don’t let stuff go just to make the deadline. I’m sure you won’t, but it always bears stating anyway.

    Comment by robertbohl | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. These goals are crazy… crazy like a fox! Seriously though, they probably aren’t realistic, but if they light a fire under your butt, then go for it.

    Comment by orklord | December 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. I agree they’re aggressive, but if I can make them work, so much the better. I do feel, though, that it’s largely my responsibility to be beholden to a good game, not a schedule and I sincerely hope that you all will tell me my that my game is not working.

    Still, if I don’t shoot for the moon…I’ll miss.

    Comment by commondialog | December 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

