Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Mythender Draft Zero

Well, I didn’t get the overview chapter done, but I got a rough draft of the introduction — well, at least notes for an introduction (since the entire Draft Zero is really just the notes for a future draft). I’m trying to set the tone for the game, where I talk about the Mythenders and the world & beasts of Mythic Scandinavia in broad strokes.  I’m not sure how to endcap the intro, but I’m not going to concern myself with that right now.

http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfn8n37p_57fvr2xbdb

I definitely feel like I bit off more than I can chew by saying I’d get it done by Friday, but, well, that’s the point of making such a brash declaration, right? Here’s to getting the overview done by Monday night.

December 17, 2007 - Posted by | Mythender

8 Comments »

  1. Ryan, is there any particular feedback you’re looking for on this or are you presenting it for consumption?

    Comment by robertbohl | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. While initially primarily for consumption, so that future posts have this fountarion (and because by promising to to this, I lit a fire under myself to do so), I welcome opinions on the idea.

    Actually, I’m also pretty sure I want to use a term other than “Mythic Scandinavia.” I dunno, maybe it feels too modern? Or too rooted in our world? I’m tempted to go the 7th Sea route here, but that only works if you put a lot of work into making a fake world feel a lot like Earth.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. I agree something more flavorful might be better. I’ll touch base with my Swedish friend.

    Comment by robertbohl | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thanks! I probably could also post on SG about it.

    I guess my biggest deal is that I want this rooted in the world that a romantic attachment to myth will create in our minds, and making it something “kinda like Earth but not” might ruin that — I know at times I looked at 7th Sea and was reminded of something Ken Hite says at world creation panels: “Use Earth. It’s playtested.”

    That is rooting in the world of the mythic and ancient, not rooted in the world of a more modern geopolitical demarcation.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  5. The Legendary North? Legendary Scandinavia? There is probably a good Swedish word for it that Hans can give me.

    Comment by robertbohl | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  6. This seems like a really solid idea. From what you’ve talked about with the system it’s really clicking with me. No real comments yet, just keep on keepin’ on.

    Comment by jhimmelman | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  7. The Legendary North? Legendary Scandinavia?
    Robert, I’m definitely am looking for something more culturally-centered than “North,” while keeping a sense of “a timeless, mythic imaginary space.”

    Jeff, thanks! I’m hoping to get more done today on the overview.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  8. My friend said:

    I’ve always been a fan of Hyperborea. It’s the classic legendary counterpart of Scandinavia.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperborea

    Comment by robertbohl | December 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

