Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Cover aesthetic discovered!

So I’ve been noodling around about what to do for the cover of Misspent Youth for some time now. I didn’t want to do an illustration, I wanted something more graphical but I didn’t know what would accomplish that look.

So I’m ruminating separately over what to do if I don’t have the money to do a nice version of MY for Gen Con, and I decide that I can do it as an ashcan. I’m thinking about the look of the ashcan and it clicks for me.

I am totally going to rip off the punk zine aesthetic. Maybe throw in a graffitied slingshot, or see about getting some “pictures” of sci-fi teens, photoshopped a bit and made cool. Take cutout letters, lots of crazy words all over the place, etc. Here are a few sample images to give you an idea what I’m talking about:

Maximum Rocknroll cover

What do you think?

January 3, 2008 - Posted by | Misspent Youth | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Here’s a good Wikipedia article describing the aesthetic in more eggheady terms.

    Comment by robertbohl | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. nice! I can totally see this working. It’s very different from a lot of the indie covers I’ve seen too, so it’ll stand out

    Comment by jhimmelman | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hell yes. That is sweet.

    I will say that I think the “do an ashcan because it’s not ready for full production by GenCon” cheapens the idea that Paul & Matt are trying to put out there, since that implies that you’re more concerned with getting it published than with getting feedback. That’s probably a discussion for somewhere else, but that’s my gut reaction upon reading the second para.

    That said, the aesthetic totally fits, from what I can tell. Have you thought about just sticking to that for the project rather than making it a full POD book? Not just as an ashcan, but as the final published form?

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Sorry, I didn’t mean to denigrate the Ashcan Front. How I would use an ashcan would be to have something to share with people and have them try before full publishing is ready, but it’s not my stance that that’s what ashcans are for all people.

    If I read you right, Ryan, you’re asking whether I’d produce the game the same way old-style punk zines were put together? While that might be interesting, it’s not the way I want to go.

    Comment by robertbohl | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. Here’s what I’m thinking. Present it like it’s an artifact from the world, on the cover at least. Like you’re hanging out at a club in 2018 and you bought this punk zine from a guy’s backpack for $2 (adjusted for inflation). Something in the flavor of Maximum Rocknroll, with photographic art like this guy’s only made sciencefictiony rather than horror/sexy.

    Comment by robertbohl | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. On Ryan’s comment about the ashcan reasons: have you considered the pdf preorder trick that is all the rage on Indie Press Revolution? It could help supplement a press run.

    Comment by orklord | January 5, 2008 | Reply

  7. Yeah I guess I better start thinking about PDFs. It’s so not my thing that I have a tough time remembering that a lot of people like to buy and run games via PDF. To me it’s mostly supplementary to the “real” game, a way to review the rules and look things up when having a book around isn’t convenient/possible.

    Comment by robertbohl | January 5, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] how to write the text so it is both clear and flavorful, and tinkering around with the idea of the zine aesthetic I mentioned earlier, and it hit […]

    Pingback by Taking the ‘zine aesthetic further « Master Mines | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

