Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

[Misspent Youth] AP report in

So when I was up in Western MA, I did a playtest of Misspent Youth. Vincent then went, BEHIND MY BACK, and posted about it on The Forge. I was really happy. I have this very firm story structure via scene economy thing that I thought might suck. That game showed me it actually was really really good.

I also came to realize that I need to have a somewhat traditional GM in this game. The Authority is going to have to not care about winning and losing conflicts, and instead is going to have to be responsible for pushing the story along. I need to write more about this, but it’s not as ugly as it might sound at first.

January 10, 2008 - Posted by | Misspent Youth | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Robert,

    That doesn’t sound ugly at all. Honestly, there’s a reason many games have a GM — as long as you’re recognizing why your game needs one and what you need to explain to the various roles, you shouldn’t feel weird about having a GM in your game.

    Also, could you unpack how you came to realize this? I’d like to hear a bit more about your though process on this.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Well, the conflict system didn’t really have a place for the GM to do much of anything anymore. And I was asking people to come up with the reversals for their characters that would get in their way or reveal new things and it felt wrong. It felt like they were being asked to do stuff that I should be doing, so I just started doing it and it started working well.

    Is that unpacked enough or am I insufficiently clear?

    Comment by robertbohl | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Robert, I went from thinking “Boy that sounds ugly.” to “Boy, that sounds like it should really work.”

    So it was clear enough for me. 🙂

    Comment by commondialog | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Well that’s good. I should probably write that piece out, though. In full. It’s going to be tricksy.

    Comment by robertbohl | January 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

