Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Ancients Project

So there has been some development since my last post. I am definitely going to be doing the Ancients project, but there’s a small twist. I probably be doing an Ancients product for a big third-party publisher (waiting for details to be finalized) and that means two things for me:

  1. A big project for Highmoon Media which will suck a lot of my time (I am bringing in another freelancer to help);
  2. A chance to merge the Generational mechanic idea I had for this into the other larger project.

Personally, I like the idea of grabbing the Generational core of the idea I presented last time and designing it as a mechanic that can be inserted into the other game, which uses its own rules system. This would not disuade me from later on pursuing the design of an original game focusing on the Ancients and that incorporates centrally the Generational mechanic (heck, an original game would probably feature the Generational mechanic at its center, sort of like in Hero’s Banner), but I find the idea of bringing this mechanic to a pretty large audience via this project.

It’s gonna take some mental muscle to figure out how to mesh these ideas with the core system in question (which I’ll say by name as soon as I can), but I look forward to it.

January 31, 2008 - Posted by | Ancients Project, Games in Development

2 Comments »

  1. Speaking of Generational mechanics, you should totally have a look at In A Wicked Age for how the “we owe” list works.

    Comment by ptevis | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have it, so I’ll take a look with an eye towards that.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | January 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

