Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

NGHB: First Playtest

I did the first playtest of NGHB (still it’s title, for now) using the Godblind SRS.  Here is what I took away:

The Good

  1. The Godbling SRS had enough situation in it to create characters the players seemed interested in.
  2. The interplay between pilot and mecha appears to be working well.  The fact that things in a mecha are easier (more dice) appears to be working well.
  3. A few of the mechanics I was iffy on appeared to elicit what I wanted.
  4. The Conflict Resolution system looks to be doing its job.

The Bad

  1. There’s too much in chargen.  During chargen, I was naming off what happens and there was some concern over the number of things that can happen.  In fact, I skipped one whole section that I don’t think will mechanically make much difference.
  2. Ineffiencies and optimizations aren’t working for mecha.  Basically, the rule in the book is that for each atttribute, the player decides a situation in which the mecha excels (optimization) and does poorly (inefficiency.)  This works well for the pilots, but not for the mecha.  In fact, for the mecha it just is a way to power up a few more mecha.
  3. I am going to file this under “The Bad” but it’s really a good thing I know.   I need more rules.  For instance, one of the characters attacked a building last night and I literally wrote the rules for attacking inanimate objects on the fly.  Which is probalby one reason why I need to revise them.

The Ugly

Fortunately the only ugly (so far) was the way I GMed.  😦  Sadly, I got so fixated on watching the conflict mechanic work that I forgot about silly things like stakes and story.  I shall try not to let that happen again.

At least I think that was the only ugly.

March 10, 2008 - Posted by | Mecha

2 Comments »

  1. Too much in char gen or you felt like you had too much to explain or spent too much time during char gen? Remember your comments to me about too much stuff during the Seiyuu playtest; how does it compare?

    Inefficiencies and optimizations sounds like a good method for individuating mecha and pilots. I look forward to reading about it.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. I think there was too much in there. Too many things that made up a character that really weren’t germane to the game.

    I felt that NGHB’s chargen just had junk in there that didn’t fit or make sense. IIRC, with Seiyuu, I never argued that what we did in chargen didn’t fit, it was more that it took a while to complete.

    Comment by commondialog | March 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

