Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Neoborn: The Second Playtest

So I got the chance to follow up on my less than successful playtest with a far more successful playtest.

Before I get into it, though, I wanted to share my playtesting methodoly.  I find that my approach to testing my game is the same way I test software.  In software, you write code and then you test just that piece of code to make sure it functions properly.  These tests are more controlled and more limited in scope.

 Once you are reasonably sure that the code works, then you move to integration testing where you see if the code functions within the scope of the entire program.  The code may do fine with the test cases that you give it, but once it is part of the software, it can be exposed to different test data which may or may not conform the expectations upon which the first tests were based.  The code must continue to work reliably given all kinds of crazy inputs.

That’s kind of what I am doing.

I want to make sure that the subsystems are all functional and that they stand on their own.  Once I am fairly sure that they work, I will test the entire game as a whole.

So in my latest playtest, we gave the combat system another going over.  I had an idea for the way combat should work and what I found was that I was almost there.  I had an inspiration where I took my basic range mechanic and tweaked it to be more tactical.  Clint took that idea and hammered out what I think is going to be the the range and movement mechanic for Neoborn.  That was good.

The playtest also exposed some issues with the way range affects weapons.  That, too, was good.  Though for largely different reasons.   I think, though, that if I get that part working, the combat subsystem will be ready for the next phase of testing.

So…I am either really close to testing the full game or just kidding myself.

March 25, 2008 - Posted by | Mecha

2 Comments »

  1. I’m not sure how to respond since there isn’t a question here just a sharing of info.

    What did the players do?

    Comment by orklord | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Not sure I need a commment. More to the point, I want to document progress to keep myself honest.

    Comment by commondialog | April 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

