Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

New Moderators

Master Miners,

This is the official announcement of a “changing of the guards”. Chris Perrin and I have volunteered to help moderate the site. Our term of office will be three months. After that, we pass it on. This is a self-imposed term of office completely of our own design. I have a drive to get far into the Playtesting phase by GenCon ’08, and hopefully can move to Reserve status after that (more on Reserves later).

We think the core of Master Mines is great: “we’re fledgling designers designing our games together”. Most of our efforts will be back to basics, resuming the Ping, keeping people posting, creating new buzz. That being said, I think in trying to be autocratic, some of the drive was lost. I want Master Mines to be synonymous with Mutualism, in that as a community we will push you towards your project goals and love you when you take each step. I myself look forward to getting the kick in the butt I need on my design, so feel free to Mutual away on me. Lastly, our default assumption for your project is that you plan on publishing it for people to buy. If this isn’t the case, please explicitly and openly say so.

Based on feedback from Miners, we have revised the status set-up: moving recharging, publishing and dormant Miners to the Reserves to keep focus on those of early in the design phase. This is in no way a demotion, it frees the Reservists to post and comment as they have time, but still be a contributing part of the community.

Here are a few things each Active member should contribute to their Projects page.

1. A draft. No mater if it is a bunch of bullets or something slightly out of date, we need something to read through in a single, focused sitting. This should be a living, breathing document. A Google doc might be a good idea for this, but for now, let’s keep that as is.

2. The Big Three. This is something everyone should do for their game at any state. I personally will be pushing for this from each Active member.

3. The Power 19. This is not a requirement, but a suggestion.  The Power 19 should be completed soon after Big Three or after you’ve completed a draft.  It will help you more than you’d expect and will challenge you on some of the assumptions you’ve made in your head about your game.

These changes aren’t set in stone. We are open to feedback. But ultimately, we hope these changes will benefit the group.

April 7, 2008 - Posted by | News & Updates, The Rules

5 Comments »

  1. Honestly, after looking back at it, I think the Power 19 is too detailed. I don’t mind if people want to ask me questions based on that, but as for doing up one, I’ll pass. P19 has its own agenda and as very Forge-style “churn out a published product” in vibe, though so does this group now.

    In any case, since I don’t have time for the focused design that I did last year & I’m not sure about my publication goals, I’m going to remove myself as active.

    Comment by Ryan Macklin | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m also feeling resistant on the power 19. I haven’t had a good experience using it. I find the questions a bit confusing, and I spend more time trying to figure out what the questions mean rather than answering them. A draft and Big Three I’m totally onboard for, with one caveat, Forge Midwest is this weekend, so I’m not going to be able to take the time to sit down and work a text, as I’ve got to get ahead on my podcast since I’m losing a weekend for editing.

    Comment by iamclyde | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve revised the Power 19 bit to a suggestion only based on your feedback. I’m holding on to the Big Three, or at least Jared’s Big Three (what Troy calls the Alt Big Three).

    Comment by orklord | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. I have to agree with Ryan and Clyde about the Power 19. I may try them later in the process, or with a different game, but I really think they were designed by Troy *for* Troy. They seem to work well for him, and possibly some others, but I’m not sure that Seiyuu is appropriate for them.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | April 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the feedback, guys. I don’t promise perfection with some changes, but I want to try new things and will adjust along the way. Rest assured, I don’t plan on making any more changes, just wanted to put some homework out there for each of us so we can get some concrete stuff “to paper” as it were.

    Comment by orklord | April 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

