Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

[Misspent Youth] Chapter 3 draft: Episode structure

I’ve just uploaded two new files for Misspent Youth.

First we have the new rules outline document, which tinkers with the default claim numbers on the first few scenes. I found an inconsistency between what I said the scenes should be doing and the difficulty of the scene based on the numbers claimed. This is a small set of changes.

Much cooler, I have finished a first draft of the episode structure chapter/article, called Death or Glory? Just Another Story. This is probably going to be the biggest article for the game and has some of the stuff I’m most excited about in the game. I’m really proud of it.

As I’ve noted in earlier posts like this one, I have not even read this even a single time after it left my fingertips. I’ll be doing so later. If you do read this, keep that in mind. Also, any comments or questions are welcome, provided you keep this whole “I haven’t read this once” thing in mind

April 20, 2008 - Posted by | Misspent Youth | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Rob, Again, this is good stuff. I’m amazed at your speed in putting this out!

    So, my thoughts on this are that I really need examples of play. I don’t get how the scenes are supposed to work with claims and rolling and winning. I think I could play through it, but I’m not sure.

    At one point, you state that the Authority Player can tell the YOs how they feel. I’m not sure I’m down with that. If you mean, “You feel tired,” that’s cool. That’s physical stuff. But if you meant, “You feel sad,” well, that’s squcik factor for me as a player.

    Is an episode a single game session?

    This is a weird thought I had reading the scene structure. Why do you have so much structure to a game about punk kids? Do you think this level of structure of play would work for your target audience?

    Comment by orklord | April 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Rich,

    Thanks for responding to this with such meaty feedback. Here I go:

    I definitely will be putting in examples, probably this evening. Have you read the conflict system chapter as well? That might help clarify things. This is not to say that I won’t put examples in, I just want to know what context you had when reading this chapter.

    The stuff about telling people how they feel probably needs an example to clarify it. Here’s one, where I’m framing a scene:

    “You guys are in detention together, you’re there because you did X, you’re there because you did Y, and you’re there you don’t know why. You’re also pissed at each other. Figure out why.”

    In other words, it’s not the kind of thing you’d do in the middle of a scene, but as a way to frame the scene. Does that make it better for you?

    Yeah, ideally an episode is a game session. I should probably include that. Or maybe not. If people can run a single episode over multiple sessions and they enjoy it, I don’t see why I should bother constraining that. I’ll have to think that over.

    As to the whether the scene structure is thematically off, I don’t think that the structure is incompatible with a game about freedom. Lots of stories about freedom have a three act structure. However, if backed into a corner on this, I’ll point out that this is a story about the fight for freedom from a controlling Authority. Roleplaying a bunch of rebellious kids in a very strong episode structure is pretty aptly modeling the experience of the characters.

    Comment by robertbohl | April 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

