Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

News from the Front

The playesting continues to go well.  At some level, that is an ambiguous statement as what does well really mean?

What I have learned from the playtests is the following.

1.  My playtest group has fun testing the game.  I’ll be the first to admit that at this point in the playtesting, fun is far secondary to testing out various mechanics and seeing how they feel, I think it’s a nice fringe benefit that everyone wants to play the game.

2.  The system does not prevent fun from happening.  Well…for the most part.  There is nothing inherent to the system that prevents fun from occuring.  Yes, a few of the things written into the game have bourne out to be pretty lame, but those things were correctable without having to invent new mechanics.  (This applies to last week only.  Before that, the game went through some pretty serious overhauling.)

3.  The game seems to bring forth everyone’s creative juices.  The current incarnation of Neoborn looks NOTHING like the original version except for the cover page.  I have found it amazing that I can advance a design goals and after a little bit of talk, normally the playtesters and I can figure out a solution to the problem.  I feel that is a tribute to the system we’re building and to the excitement that is generated.

So that’s all good…

Sunday will be the real test.  Normally what happens is the playtests go on two week cycles.  One week we overhaul a major ruleset, the next week we play.  The week after that, we overhaul something else.  If we overhaul nothing this Sunday, I will feel like I am one step closer to success.

My Question

So here it is.  I am going to be asking this a lot.   I have started pondering the section of the game on setting up campaigns, story arcs, etc.  So please, tell me of your experiences with other mecha games.  What worked?  More importantly, what did not?

Also, while I cannot make everyone happy, I do want to support as many possible playstyles as I reasonably can.  So…what are you looking for in a mecha game?

April 24, 2008 - Posted by | Mecha

2 Comments »

  1. For mecha, I have only played Battletech, and that isn’t an RPG. I’ve never been in a play group that played mecha.

    As for what playstyle I would want, something that shifts gears quickly. I’d like downtime emo scenes and then high action and have them distinctly different from each other.

    Comment by orklord | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’ve never played a mech game. What I’d want in it would be predictably hippyish: I’d like to see what life is like for the ground crew responsible for the machines, tensions with the hot-shot riders, etc. Something very much like the Battlestar Galactica pilot/ground crew thing.

    Comment by robertbohl | April 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

