Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

[Decommissioned] Two Updates

1. I’ve been avoiding this post because its a bit embarassing, but I need help.

I have a mechanic I think it interesting and very quick to use with the two stat system and I have a nice device idea for the countdown.  I know how I want the book to look and what language to use.  All of that is well and good.

But I’m stuck on how to go from character generation to actual play.  I had this idea about the player(s) and GM writing down a series of scenes they’d like on index cards, and then sequencing them up into a session, but that still assumes that the GM and player(s) know what scenes they’d like.

How can I get this to work better?

2. I have secured a couple locals for an upcoming playtest and will be creating a playtest scenario this week.  I’ll post it up for review once I’m done.

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | D-Com

4 Comments »

  1. 1) Where do you perceive this to be potentially falling down? Have you tried it? I don’t see any obvious fail-points at first blush.

    2) Looking forward to it.

    Comment by robertbohl | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I could certainly see this falling down with a group of players who all know something awesome they’d like to see happen, but don’t know how to fit it all together. I could also see a problem where people end up “playing before play” in a way that ends up frustrating them.

    My instinct here is that what you need is a story machine – a process through which players create the seeds of a situation. The paradigmatic example is of course the town creation process in Dogs.

    So, you have characters, all of whom have reason to abandon their duties. What do you need for settings on the scene level? Is there a way to derive those from the characters’ troubles with the world?

    Comment by misuba | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. (and I don’t see why you’re embarrassed. Hell, I’m the one who’s never posted anything here that was more than half-formed. … oh. I might see why you’re embarrassed.)

    Comment by misuba | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. Actually, town creation in Dogs is in the GM’s hands, and it sounds like Rich wants to put most of this choice in player hands. However, Dogs is still a great go-to for this, but I would steal Initiation, instead.

    The first scene covers *why* the character’s Bot is going rogue and what their Goal is. That’s the crux of the conflict for that scene. Success means the character has one less “Obstacle” to overcome in order to achieve their Goal; failure indicates an immediate loss of Core, putting them further behind the eight ball.

    After the first scene, the player (or GM or both, depending on how Rich wants to divide responsibilities) chooses a certain number of Obstacles between their Bot and their Bot’s Goal – less one, if the player succeed during the initial conflict. There are your scenes – dealing with those Obstacles. The number of Obstacles should probably relate to the number of players present and the amount of time available for the session. Sequencing could be up to the GM. Regardless, it shouldn’t be too hard to tweak through playtest.

    The opening scene is also an ideal place to do character creation – I can see players making character creation choices in line with their Bot’s Goal, and vice versa.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | May 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

