Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Death of the Tag

So I was running the first-ever multi-session game of Misspent Youth this weekend, and I realized that while I can make the Tag* work, I have to work at it, and others probably aren’t going to want to. So out it goes.

This was tough for me to do. I kept thinking that there was a magical way I could phrase things to make it work,but in the end I came to realize that it just wasn’t going to happen.

In other news, Mickey ran the second-ever never-played-the-game-with-me session of Misspent Youth (she also ran the first) at Go Play Northwest. It sounds like it went mixed, but ok. I’m waiting on actual play, which Mickey says that she can probably provide soon.

* For those who don’t follow my game slavishly, the Tag is this thing in the game where you get it when you treat other characters like friends (rely on them, come to their aid, compliment them, etc.). When that happened, you were very lightly in charge in-character, and The Authority would direct its attacks at you.

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | Misspent Youth | ,

2 Comments »

  1. What about the Tag didn’t work in long term play, Rob?

    Comment by orklord | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. It was something that if I worked really hard on, I could make work at the cost of fucking with the flow of the game. It occurred to me that it wasn’t worth it, and it was the kind of friction that, when you see it in a game, you should extract it no matter how much you like the system it’s attached to.

    Comment by robertbohl | June 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

