Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Seiyuu: Update

I spent an hour and a half breaking the game last Wednesday, using the Joshua Bishop-Roby’s method that Daniel Solis used for Do. I have a half-finished post sitting in my Inbox, but other things keep getting in the way. Hopefully, I’ll post something soon – at least something after I finish breaking the game.

I’ve been trying to schedule a playstorming session with some of the locals, but summer is turning out to be incredibly difficult for many of us. Work is crushing me, Andy is in a similar situation and has two projects with final edits due by the end of June, and others are on vacation or have tough schedules to coordinate. I’m going to keep trying, but I’m lowering my expectation to get significant playstorming or -testing done prior to GenCon.

That said, I’m now focusing on having a fully playable draft for GenCon, and I’m looking to collect commitments from any and all to participate in playtest sessions at GenCon. I have a separate post on my design blog (xposted to LiveJournal) soliticing commitments, so please sign up there, if you’re interested.

I wish I had more and better to report, but that’s where I am right now. I’m thrilled to hear about everyone else’s progress, though, and I understand that Mythender is being released at the end of this week. Maybe Ryan can explain the need for the name change to Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition? πŸ™‚

June 3, 2008 - Posted by | News & Updates, Seiyuu

4 Comments »

  1. So, Matt, it sounds like you’re not planning to have a product at Gen Con, but instead a set of rules you can test and maybe pass out?

    Comment by robertbohl | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Rob, it was never my intention to have a product at GenCon this year. At the earliest, I might be ready for Dreamation 2009, and even that is unlikely. My progress is pretty glacial, as well as stop-and-start.

    I’m not even sure I’ll be passing out a rules set for test; the doc may just be for my own purposes of playtesting the game.

    A few weeks ago, Chris tried to convince me Seiyuu would be perfect for the Ash Can Front. He failed. πŸ™‚

    I’m not rushing to get a product to market, because that’s not why I’m doing it. However, I want *some* sort of deadline, so having a fully playable game – by which I mean all parts of the game, start to finish, exist in some form ready for testing – by GenCon sounded good to me. Also, I’ve already had a few folks interested in the game who are looking forward to testing it then.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m sorry, I hope I didn’t come off pressurey. I was just curious where you’re at.

    Comment by robertbohl | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Sorry, Rob, my bad: work pressure is all about deadlines and project statuses right now, and that spilled out here. Work being what it is, I’m not getting a lot done with the game, and that’s doubly frustrating.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | June 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

