Master Mines

We’re digging RPGs

Production panic!

At Joshua AC Newman‘s suggestion, I checked with Publishers’ Graphics on when they’d need to have my PDFs by to have my books to me by August 7. This is going to make my timetable to get the books by Gen Con much tighter. I really need to kick my own ass to get shit done on time now. Shame on me.

I’m grateful to Joshua for thinking to make me ask this question. If the books are at Gen Con, it’s his “fault.”

June 9, 2008 - Posted by | Misspent Youth | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Rob, I mean this in the kindest way: we told you so. đŸ™‚

    Hurray for Joshua’s input! I think you’ve got the right mindset for getting a product to GenCon, but I hope you have mentally prepared for the other possibility. You might want to consider fallbacks: can’t finish, but can have ashcan/full demo; can’t have ashcan/demo, but can have text doc or playtest copy; etc.

    Good luck getting everything done by your new deadline…which is what, exactly?

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey, no “I told you sos!” It’s happening! I just have to push it a little. I had what I thought was a reasonable deadline, and then it turned out there was something I didn’t (nor anyone else) think of. I never heard any advice telling me to ask the printer for a delivery-by-August-7th date, and the moment I did, I took it!

    As for if this isn’t done in time, to be completely honest, no, I am not prepared for that. If it seems like it’s not going to happen I can probably go to a copy shop and print off PDFs or something. Or just not have an ashcan for this Gen Con.

    EDIT: I didn’t answer your other question, which is that I need to have layout and final art done by July 1. Not impossible, but tight.

    Comment by robertbohl | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. And now the important question: What can we do to help?

    Comment by ptevis | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks, Paul! Well, I’m not sure. I guess what I’ll do is lean on you guys heavily in IM if I get stuck on figuring out stuff with the layout program. If anyone’s interested, I can probably also send PDFs of the thing as I lay it out. I shouldn’t probably post publicly because it’s going to be laid out with not-final art.

    Comment by robertbohl | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. And Paul demonstrates how much wiser than me he truly is.

    This sounds like it may be a “Master Miners Mobilize!” moment. I think you are the only one (other than possibly Paul?) who is driving hard for a GenCon date. Are there any bits you could use help with or delegate to some of us, in order for you to focus on those deadlines? I realize the answer may be an “unfortunately, no.” If so, you still have our moral support and encouragement. Touch base here if you need a little pep rally or validation.

    Comment by Matthew Gandy | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks, Matt. At this point I need to do my layout stuff and a few small edits. If I can think of a way to mobilize you guys, I will.

    Comment by robertbohl | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  7. Count me in Rob. If you need something, give me the word. At the very least, we’ll have a case of Redbull or Rockstar or both delivered to your door.

    Comment by commondialog | June 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

